Asian Spiced Daikon Mushroom Soup

This turned out very well. I might add some meat or tofu next time to make it more meal-like.

Ingredients
  • 1 quart of stock (I used some homemade chicken-beef stock I made with frozen beef bones and the bones from my roast chicken)
  • 2 medium daikon radish, peeled and sliced (about 2.5 cups – I used 1/2 of a giant daikon radish)
  • 1 large onion, diced
  • 8 ounces of mixed fresh mushrooms (I used crimini, sliced)
  • 2 cloves of garlic, minced
  • 1/2 inch knob of ginger, minced
  • 1 scallion minced for garnish (omitted)
  • 1 teaspoon sea salt and pepper to taste
  • Olive oil  and ghee (or butter) for sauteing the vegetables
  • rice vinegar to taste

Instructions

  1. Heat the olive oil and ghee in a pot.
  2. Place the mushroom, daikon and onion and in the pan and saute for 6 – 8 minutes until soft.
  3. Add the garlic and ginger and continue cooking until fragrant.
  4. Add the stock.
  5. Add salt and pepper to taste.
  6. Simmer for 12 – 15 minutes until all vegetables are very soft.
  7. Taste and add more salt and pepper or a splash of rice vinegar if you like.
  8. Garnish with chopped scallion and serve.