I made this to use on flax pancakes. I’ve always peeled peaches but I wondered if  I could cook them more like I make applesauce, using a food mill to take out the skins. It worked nicely. The peach sauce turned out redder than I expected – I wonder if more colour transferred from the skin.

1 basket of peaches, rinsed and stems removed

1/2 cup water

1/2 tsp stevia or to taste

3/4 tsp guar gum or to desired thickness

juice of 2 limes

Put the peaches in a covered pot with the water. Bring to a simmer and cook on low until the peaches are very tender.

Using a potato masher, mash the peaches enough to make it easy to find the pits. Fish out the pits with a spoon.

Run the mixture through a food mill, going slow in case you encounter any remaining pits. If you encounter a pit, reverse the food mill and pick out the pits.

Add the stevia and guar gum and blend the mixture with a stick blender. Stir in the lime juice. Taste and add as much stevia and guar gum as you like to make the sauce thick and sweet. Refrigerate or freeze.

