On the up side, I’ve had some good salads the past few days. Thinly sliced steak with frisee, tomatoes, balsamic vinegar and olive oil. Montreal steak spiced capicollo with tomatoes, romaine, balsamic vinegar and olive oil. And I picked up more of the capicollo (0 g carb per serving) and some ham (1 g carb per 70 g) today in preparation for salads during the week.

My trip to Costco was also good on the low carb front – olive oil packed tuna, sliced almonds, olive oil, tomatoes, eggs, avocado oil mayo (Chosen Foods still isn’t my favourite but I don’t want the canola and soy oil and I haven’t gotten to Whole Foods to try the other commercial brand), salsa (I’ve been craving it on my eggs) and tea bags.

I had some avocados get overripe, but I’m eating the parts that are still good, which usually amounts to half the avocado.

On the downside, my weight is really high – over 222 the last time I looked.

It’s crazy how many carbs a lot of prepared meats have – I rejected smoked sausage, cheddar smoked sausage, bologna, kielbasa, and pepperettes today because they had too many carbs.

Of course, it’s a bit on the absurd side to be so picky about a few carbs in meat when I had several servings of bread this weekend. But I’m trying to do better.

