I cleaned for a sick friend yesterday and brought a slow cooker of really tasty black beans to share with the other volunteers and to leave for the friend and her spouse. (I used dried black beans and cooked them with onions, olive oil, garlic, red bell peppers, chipotle powder, cumin, coriander, salt, pepper, Mexican oregano, mushroom powder, sundried tomatoes and the oil they were packed in.) I made beans because I knew they liked them and because another of the volunteers is vegan. I also made a pot of rice.

I skipped the rice, but did enjoy a bowl of beans. (They were seriously tasty.) I was vegetarian for years and had few issues digesting beans because I ate them so frequently. Not so now. I’ll be more cautious with my portion size the next time I eat something like that.

I also went for fish, chips, and beer on Good Friday and ate an entire delicious, fresh pita with hummus yesterday.

Tonight, I’m going for Easter dinner at the home of a friend who also eats keto, so it’ll be pretty easy to stay on track. I’m bringing no-bake keto cheesecake.

