I have a couple things on my side in my efforts to do keto better: a friend who I often eat with has been diagnosed as pre-diabetic (she had gestational diabetes in her pregnancy last year, so unfortunately it’s not unexpected) and is going to try eating keto with me. Another friend who I eat with once or twice a week wants to lose weight and has agreed to try keto with me.

I cooked some steak tails this afternoon, one to eat and 2 for future meals. This was my first meal of leftovers:

coconut oil

a few broccoli florets

fried onions

fried mushrooms

a steak tail, cooked rare and thinly sliced

brie, sliced

Heat the coconut oil in a small oven-safe pan. Add the broccoli. Bake at 350 until the broccoli is warm – mine was already cooked so this was maybe 10 minutes. If I’d cooked it from frozen it would have taken longer.

Scatter the onions and mushrooms over the broccoli and cook for another few minutes. Arrange the sliced steak over the top and cook until it’s hot. Arrange the brie over top and cook until it’s just melted – this won’t take long.

Season with salt and pepper and eat.

