Today was a mostly good day, food-wise. I had a couple servings of nuts (walnuts and pistachios) at work as well as 3 or 4 little squares of 72% cacao chocolate. My meals: eggs with toasted almond flour-flax bread and peanut butter, creamed cabbage with blue cheese stuffed burger, and steak with more creamed cabbage and a glass of dry red wine. (Thankfully, the creamed cabbage is delicious.) Oh, and I had some coconut milk custard as a snack. (It’s great – 1 L Aroy-D coconut milk with 1/2 cup monk fruit-erythritol sweetener, 8 egg yolks, 1 Tbsp vanilla, a pinch of salt, and about 1/2 a grated nutmeg. Cooked in the microwave and blended with my stick blender until it thickens.)

I just had a before bed snack of garlic bread made with the almond flour-flax bread.

I’ve stopped buying dairy in preparation for trying keto for a couple weeks without it. It’ll be a couple weeks til I run out – I still have a whole block of smoked cheese, a wheel of brie, half a wedge of blue cheese, and a bunch of grated parmesan in the freezer. Oh, and maybe 1/4 lb of butter, 1/2 lb ghee, 750 g of yogurt, a cup of sour cream, and 2 cups of heavy cream. (Wow, do I ever keep a lot of dairy around.)

I’m thinking of making some salted coconut oil and avocado oil-based butter substitute – there are various recipes online. The main thing is probably just to put the coconut oil in a more convenient vessel – digging it out of a 2 kg jar isn’t overly convenient.

