When I was a kid, my mum was always trying to get us to eat liver. In addition to frying it, she’d do things like chop it up and put it in pasta sauce. I hated it.

When I was a teenager, I found out that I liked Jewish chopped chicken liver. I also like liver pate and liverwurst.

I’ve been thinking about ordering liver with fried onions in a restaurant but I wasn’t sure whether I’d like it. Today, while I was at the grocery store, I picked up 2 slices of calf’s liver, about 1/2 lb.

When I got home, I seasoned both sides with salt and pepper and dusted them with arrowroot flour. Then I got a cast iron pan hot and melted some bacon fat. I fried the liver for 1 minute per side then set it aside. I very thinly sliced 1/2 an onion and cooked it in the pan for a few minutes until it was soft. I added 3 Tbsp. of heavy cream and cooked it for a minute. Then I stirred in a little bit of red wine vinegar, maybe 1/2 tsp. Then I added the liver back to the pan and cooked it for another minute per side. Then I ate it.

As everyone has always told me, calf’s liver is very mild. Parts of it were a bit chewy, but most of it had a nice texture. I wouldn’t mind a more flavourful sauce – if I’d had some port, I would have deglazed the pan with that. (No, that wouldn’t be low carb, but whatever.)

Anyway, horizons expanded! I’ll eat this again.

