For the past couple weeks, I’ve been off a corticosteroid/long-acting bronchodilator for the first time in more than 10 years. In the past, when I forgot it, I would have asthma symptoms. But over the past month or so when I’ve forgotten my inhaler I haven’t noticed any symptoms. So I decided to try going off of it for a while to see whether symptoms crop up. I had a cold last week and my breathing remained fine. I don’t know whether this is because of my weight loss, my change in diet, or something else, but it’s certainly a welcome change.

I’m still on Singulair/montelukast – it helps with my allergies, too, so unless my allergies improved, I wouldn’t want to go off it.

I wish low carb helped with my acne, as this article suggests it should. I have uncomplicated acne – blackheads along my jaw, often a whitehead or two on my chin or nose, a few more zits once a month. But I have about as much acne as I ever did and the last week or so I’ve had some bigger zits that took longer to heal.

