A couple years ago I ran a TOPS meeting about sweeteners. I didn’t focus on whether or not they’re healthy – I think it would be difficult to have such a discussion in a group with such varied levels of scientific knowledge. Instead, I focused on how to use different sweeteners in different applications and each sweetener’s effects on blood sugar.

The library has more books on low-carb baking than it used to, so I’m thinking of bringing a few in as examples of where people might be able to find recipes to use with sweeteners.

I included saccharin on the list because I like it in combination with sucralose for sweetening chocolate desserts. But I haven’t been able to find it lately. Shoppers Drug Mart still lists it on its web site, so I emailed Shoppers Drug Mart to see if they can tell me what stores carry it.

