I’m cooking turkey dinner with friends next Sunday. There are only 4 of us, so a whole turkey is overkill. I’m doing a trial run this weekend so I can change my mind and cook a whole turkey if it doesn’t turn out.

I looked at prepared boneless turkey breasts at the grocery store, but instead of wrapping them in delicious turkey skin they cover them with carrageenan. No, thank you!

I went to another grocery store that carries bone-in skin-on turkey breast, but when I saw that they had bone-in skin-on turkey thighs that sounded even better.

I salted the turkey thigh and roasted it in my convection toaster oven at 325. At 20 minutes and again at 40 minutes, I brushed it with the fat that had rendered out. The internet told me to expect about 45 minutes cooking time, but it’s a 2 1/2 lb thigh so it actually took about 60 minutes to come to 165 F. I then broiled it for 5 minutes since the skin wasn’t as crisp as I’d like.

The meat was very juicy. It’s not particularly tender, but slicing it thinly helps with that. I’ll lift up the skin and put butter and sage under it next time to see if it helps with crisping the skin.

I’m going to make this gravy to go with it next weekend.

Anyway, qualified success!

