It’s been a while since I had cauliflower casserole, but big heads of cauliflower were $1.88 at the grocery store today so I decided to make one. I had an open package of bacon and the remainder of a beef roast in the fridge, both of which I either needed to cook or freeze today.

Bake about 10 ounces of bacon in a 9×13 pan until it’s as crisp as you’d like. Set aside the bacon.

Cut a head of cauliflower into big florets. Put them in the 9×13 pan with the bacon fat. Bake until the cauliflower is starting to get tender.

Meanwhile, chop the cooked bacon. Chop some leftover beef roast into bite sized pieces – I had about 2 cups.

Remove the cauliflower from the oven and chop it into bite sized pieces. Return them to the pan.

Stir in the beef, bacon, 1 1/2 cups of sour cream, salt and pepper to taste, and 1 Tbsp. minced garlic.

Sprinkle a cup or so of grated cheddar on top.

Bake until the casserole is heated through and the cheese is melted and a bit browned.

 

