I picked up a rack of spareribs on sale at the Chinese market. ($2.30/lb) Then I came home to find a low carb (for me) recipe without sweetener (for my boyfriend). I still have some Alabama white barbecue sauce in the fridge, so I’m making this. The recipe calls for baby back ribs, which cook quicker than spareribs, so I’m going to increase the initial cooking time.

2 Teaspoons fennel seeds, ground in a spice grinder
2 Teaspoons coriander seeds, ground in a spice grinder
2 Teaspoons dried oregano
2 Teaspoons salt
1 Teaspoon garlic powder
1/2 Teaspoon onion powder
1 Teaspoon smoked paprika
1 Cup plain full-fat yogurt
1 rack spare ribs, 4-5 lbs

white barbecue sauce

Combine the fennel seeds, coriander seeds, oregano, salt, garlic powder, onion powder, paprika, and yogurt in a large bowl and rub into the baby back ribs. Marinate in the refrigerator for at least 2 days.

When ready to cook, preheat the oven to 250 degrees. Wrap the ribs in foil and arrange them on a baking sheet.

Bake in the oven for 3 hours. Remove from the oven and let cool to room temperature.

Preheat a gas grill.

Warm the ribs on the grill, toss the ribs in the white barbecue sauce, and return to a warm spot on the grill. Continue to baste and slather with sauce until nicely caramelized, about 10 minutes. Serve warm.

 

