Based on this recipe. I didn’t read the recipe properly and added the cilantro to the marinade instead of sprinkling it on at the end. I didn’t have lemongrass, so I skipped that. And I thought fish sauce and cayenne would be good additions. I’m going to make some satay sauce to go with this but haven’t decided which recipe to use yet.

  • 2 lbs chicken wings
  • 4 cm fresh ginger root (1.5 inch), peeled
  • 3 cloves garlic
  • juice of 1/2 lemon
  • 2 tbsp peanut butter
  • 150 mL coconut cream (10 tablespoons)
  • 0.5 tsp ground
  • 0.5 tsp turmeric
  • 2 Tbsp fish sauce
  • 1/2 tsp cayenne
  • 1 bunch fresh cilantro / coriander

 

  1. In a food processor bowl, add the ginger and garlic. Pulse until they’re in small pieces.
  2. Add the peanut butter, the lemon juice, the coconut cream, the cilantro, the spices and the fish sauce.
  3. Mix well until you get a smooth paste.
  4. Pour the marinade on the chicken wings and leave to rest in the fridge for about 12 hours.
  5. Cook the wings as usual – I’ll be doing it on the barbecue.
