Based on a recipe from South East Asian Food. I would have normally used peanut butter, but I ran out. The slightly coarser texture of freshly ground peanuts is more traditional, anyway. Unless you’re very spice shy, use the full amount of dried chiles – I started with 3 and it was way too mild so I added 3 more.

I’ll be serving this with chicken wings and I haven’t decided on a vegetable yet.

2 tsp coriander seed

1 tsp fennel seed

1 tsp cumin seed

6 whole dried chiles

fish sauce to taste

6 shallots or 1 onion

2 cloves garlic

2 Tbsp coconut oil

3/4 cup roasted peanuts

1 cup coconut milk

juice of 1/2 lemon (tamarind or lime would be more traditional, but it’s what I had on hand)

yacon syrup to taste

Grind the cumin, fennel, coriander, and chiles.

Mince the shallot or onion and garlic.

Fry the spices and vegetables in the coconut oil until the onions or shallots are very tender.

Add the remaining ingredients, starting with a tablespoon of fish sauce and a teaspoon of yacon syrup. Blend with a stick blender until the mixture is reasonably smooth.

Simmer for 10 minutes to let the flavours combine. Taste, and adjust seasoning with yacon syrup and fish sauce. Let cool and serve at room temperature.

