I got frustrated with cocoa powder not dissolving well in my hot chocolate and decided to start making chocolate syrup. I haven’t been measuring well, but basically what I’ve done is boiled a kettle, stirred boiling water into cocoa powder until it forms a thin syrup, added a bit of salt, and then sweetened it to taste with cyclamate liquid and sucralose liquid. (I’m out of saccharin.) The syrup thickens in the fridge, but I can still easily scoop some out to combine with cream and water for hot cocoa.

I don’t know how long it lasts in the fridge since I’ve consumed it relatively quickly. (I have a chocolate problem.)

I just had chocolate peanut butter whipped cream made with my syrup. (1/2 cup whipping cream + 2 Tbsp. peanut butter + 2 Tbsp syrup.) It was really good.

My weight is up – just above 210 on my home scale for the first time in a while. I overdid the beer and bar food on the weekend.

