I had most of a container of Brie Spread and a bunch of asparagus in the fridge, so I went searching for a recipe to combine them. This one sounded good, but what to substitute for the bread crumbs? I thought about grinding some low carb bread but decided to use 1/3 cup of ground pecans instead of the 1/2 cup bread crumbs. I thought this worked nicely. If I make this again, I’ll saute some garlic in the butter before mixing it with the ground nuts.

1 bunch fresh asparagus, trimmed

4 oz Brie cheese, sliced or Brie spread

1/4 cup butter, melted

1/3 cup ground nuts such as pecans

1/4 cup toasted sesame seeds
Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C).
Steam the asparagus. I did this in the microwave.
Lay cheese slices over asparagus. In a small bowl combine melted butter, ground nuts and sesame seeds. Season with pepper and, if the butter is unsalted, salt.

Sprinkle over cheese.
Bake in preheated oven for 8 minutes.
Increase oven to broil. Broil just until topping is golden brown.

