A friend sent me home from dinner with the bone from a smoked pork shoulder. (I know, a bit odd, but she knew I’d use it.) I made a broth with the bone, celery, onions, carrots, and dried shiitake mushrooms. (The last one was because I had some that have been around too long.) Then I roughly followed this recipe. We did too good a job getting the meat off the bone in the first place, so I didn’t add the pieces of meat. I used dried minced onion instead of onion powder and 1/2 tsp dried thyme instead of the fresh. I added the dried thyme when I added the onion and garlic since I figured dried could stand to simmer longer than fresh.

In addition to the apple cider vinegar and butter, I stirred in some mushroom powder and a fair bit of black pepper at the end. Obviously, the soup would be improved by including the chopped ham, but it tasted pretty good anyway.

