I’m making meatballs for a party next weekend. I admit I’m not going to make the sauce low carb, but didn’t see any reason to make the meatballs themselves high carb. These are very simple and taste great. I’ll report back on how they hold up in the slow cooker.

2 lbs ground beef

2 1/2 lbs ground pork

5 tsp salt

5 tsp granulated garlic

4 tsp dried minced onion

2 tsp black pepper

3 tsp smoked paprika

3 eggs

Combine all the ingredients. Fry a meatball to check the seasoning – this is a lot of meatballs to mess up!

Preheat the oven to 350.

Line baking sheets with parchment paper. Form the mixture into small meatballs and arrange them close together on the baking sheets. I only have 1 rack in my oven, so it took 2 batches on a full sheet pan to bake all the meatballs.

Bake the meatballs for 12 minutes, rotating once, until they’re just cooked through.

I’m going to freeze them until Saturday, then thaw them and simmer them in the sauce. (Haven’t decided on a recipe yet. My family often does ketchup and grape jelly, but I might go honey garlic.)

