I honestly didn’t know what I was making when I started this – I wanted to do something with some leftover pulled pork so I started frying it then adding ingredients. The chili I ended up with was quite nice.

2 Tbsp. cooking fat

2 lbs pork picnic shoulder meat, cooked until very tender and chopped into bite sized pieces

1 1/2 bunches green onions, chopped

1 red bell pepper, diced

4 Tbsp. chili powder or to taste

3 pickled jalapenos, chopped

carrots and onions from a can of pickled jalapenos, chopped

2 cups canned diced tomatoes

salt and pepper to taste

Fry the vegetables in the fat. Add the meat and continue cooking until the meat and vegetables have begun to brown. Add the chili powder and continue cooking for a couple minutes. Add all of the remaining ingredients and bring to a simmer. Cover, reduce heat to low, and simmer for 1 hour to allow flavours to combine. Serve with sour cream.

 

