These crackers were great but I changed the recipe this time to use the seeds I have on hand.

  • 200 g hulled pumpkin seeds (pepitas)
  • 60 g whole flax seeds (I used white)
  • 100 g hemp seeds
  • 45 g psyllium husk (I used a mixture of whole and ground since that’s what I had on hand. Not sure it makes a difference.)
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 500 mL water

Combine all of the ingredients. Let them stand for 10 minutes or until the mixture thickens.

Meanwhile, preheat the oven to 325. Line a large baking sheet (or 2 more normal ones) with parchment and oil the parchment. (The first time I made these, they were very determined to stick.)

Stir the mixture and then spread it as thinly and evenly as you can on the prepared baking sheet. Using the side of a spatula, press indentations where you would like to break the crackers. (A knife is too thin – I found the mixture spread and the crackers didn’t break on the lines.)

Bake the crackers, rotating once, for 75 minutes or until they are crisp and browned.

