When I post from my cell phone, sometimes the contents of the post disappears. How annoying!

2 chicken carcasses

2 onions, halved

8 celery stalks including leaves

3″ ginger, thickly sliced

1 tsp mushroom seasoning (optional – this is something I have around from when I was vegetarian)

1 tsp salt

12 small dried shiitake mushrooms

6 whole dried chiles

1 tsp peppercorns

1 tsp szechuan peppercorns

2 Tbsp. rice wine vinegar

Cover the chicken carcasses with water. Add the remaining ingredients. Bring to a simmer. Simmer, covered, for 2 hours. Uncover and continue simmering until the broth is rich and as concentrated as you’d like – I simmered it for another couple hours. Strain and refrigerate to allow the fat to congeal. After you remove as much fat as you’d like, return to a simmer and season to taste with fish sauce and salt.

