I thought today would be a good day for fasting, but a friend who’s been in the hospital a while ended up being discharged and the day became more busy and social than I’d expected.

I ate relatively late last night, so I fasted from about 9:30 last night to about 1 p.m. today. When I was shopping, I almost forgot I was fasting when I saw sample potato chips, but remembered and didn’t have one. Then a friend was eating cheese and I asked for one, forgetting I was fasting until I’d already eaten it.

The 15 hour fast I did felt more natural than my last fast. I had one coffee with cream and otherwise just had homemade, sugar-free iced tea, coffee, and water.

My eating the rest of the day has been pretty good – a spoonful of peanut butter, a giant caesar salad with packaged dressing, cheese, and fake bacon bits (no croutons), a few pork cracklings, a small piece of chocolate, cauliflower with pulled pork, and steak with fried onions and mushrooms for supper. (OK, that still sounds like a lot of food, but unusually, I only ate half the steak and vegetables. I put the rest in the fridge to make a steak melt tomorrow.)

Now I’m planning to fast until after TOPS, so another 14-15 hour fast.

