This recipe was mostly based on using up a coconut flour pie crust that failed because I accidentally used chickpea flour, but the meat balls turned out beautifully tender so I might do it on purpose another time. (I also omitted the honey from the pie crust.) The mixture looked way too bread-y, but I don’t notice the bread in the finished meatballs. I plan to make Italian wedding soup with some of the meatballs.

If I bake chickpea bread again just to use in this recipe, I’ll use chicken fat instead of the butter or coconut oil the recipe calls for. I also won’t bother carefully pressing the mixture up the sides of the pie pan since it just slid down to form a dense, bread-y disk. (Incidentally, this recipe is mix 1/2 cup fat, melted + 3/4 cup chickpea flour + 1/4 tsp salt + 2 eggs and then bake at 400 for 10 minutes or until browned.)

1 lb ground pork

1 tsp salt

1/2 tsp garlic powder

1/2 tsp pepper

1 recipe failed coconut flour pie crust (see above) + 1 slice chickpea-flax bread, ground

1 egg

Combine all the ingredients. Let the mixture rest for 10 minutes. Form into balls as small as you have patience for – mine were less than 1″ across. Bake at 350 until cooked through, about 15 minutes for me. Use in whatever recipes you like.

