I’ve had a package of pork rind noodles in my freezer for a few months, waiting for me to decide what I want to do with them. The traditional recipes call for roasted rice powder, so they’re not low carb.

Following the package instructions, I put the frozen noodles in boiling water and let them simmer for 2 minutes, then drained them and rinsed them with cold water. I didn’t try them while they were hot this time, but after I rinsed them in cold water they were like very tough rice noodles. I don’t discern any pork flavour or odour and they’re pure white.

At this point, I put them in the fridge, planning to use them in soup later. After a few hours in the fridge, they had formed a gelatinous lump.

I decided to make a chicken and turkey vegetable soup with them. (I have chicken broth and turkey meat.) This is diced carrots, onions, and celery, chicken broth, diced turkey meat, some tomato juice from a can of unsalted tomatoes, salt, pepper, summer savoury, and smoked paprika. After this had simmered for a while, I lowered the gelatinous lump into it. I really like the texture of the noodles straight out of the hot broth – they’re fun to roll around my fork, tender, and flavourful from the broth. I will definitely be making some pho with them.

The recipe I linked mentioned that the pork skin can melt together, but putting it into boiling liquid I found it separated nicely.

