I made the Stout bread from The Joy of Gluten-Free Sugar-Free Baking today. It’s a less expensive bread since its main ingredients are chickpea flour and golden flax. My changes: used 12 drops sucralose liquid instead of the recommended sweetener, omitted the optional black pepper and used heavy cream thinned with water (1 part cream to 3 parts water) instead of soy milk.

The bread turned out quite sweet – I’ll reduce the sucralose next time. The crust is wonderfully crisp and the inside is nice and moist. Definitely a keeper.

The next morning, I sliced some of the bread, fried it in butter, then fried eggs in the same pan. It was a great substitute for eggs in a basket, which I used to love.

This has become my go-to bread. The ingredients are very reasonably priced ($1.30/lb for flax seeds, which I grind at home, and $1.50/lb for chickpea flour). The flavour is quite neutral, so the bread is versatile. And it toasts up nice and crisp.

The last time I made it, I used 1/2 cup Aroy-D coconut milk with 1 1/2 cups water as the liquid and melted coconut oil as the fat.

