Ground pork is so versatile. (Ideally, I’d use half pork and half beef in meatloaf, but beef is expensive right now and pork is inexpensive.) Even though I only cooked the meatloaf until the centre measured 160 degrees, the edge piece I ate first was a bit dry. I might mix some cheese into this recipe next time.

Other than that, this turned out well. I’ve used fried vegetables in meatloaf ever since I found the Good Eats meat loaf recipe and they give the meatloaf good flavour and texture.

cooking fat (I used some olive oil, anything is fine)

1 onion, chopped

4-5 stalks celery, finely chopped

4 cloves garlic, pressed or minced

4 pickled jalapenos, chopped (I didn’t bother seeding them)

2 lbs ground pork

2 eggs

1/4 cup coconut flour

salt, pepper, worcestershire sauce, and soy sauce to taste

low carb barbecue sauce

Fry the vegetables in the fat until they’re tender. Let the mixture cool and then combine it with all of the remaining ingredients except the barbecue sauce. Form the mixture into a loaf shape on a baking pan. Bake at 350 for 30 minutes, then top with barbecue sauce and continue cooking until the center reaches 160 degrees, about another half hour.

