I’ve been craving gingerbread lately – probably something to do with the cold weather. I followed this recipe, with these changes:

  • coconut oil instead of butter
  • heavy cream instead of milk
  • 1/4 cup yacon syrup + 1/2 cup 6% fat yogurt + 1/4 tsp stevia instead of 3/4 cup molasses
  • erythritol instead of xylitol

Replacing molasses 1:1 with yacon was an option, but since it costs $20/cup here, there was no way I was going to do that. I’ve found that yogurt is a good substitute for molasses in baked goods (other than the sweetness, of course) because it has similar characteristics in terms of moisture and acidity.

With the yacon syrup, erythritol, and stevia, the cake only has a gentle sweetness. I suggest increasing the stevia if you want a sweeter cake. With 2 Tbsp. of ginger (from a newly opened package), I actually don’t find the cake that ginger-y. I might increase the ginger and/or add some grated fresh ginger next time. The cake has a really nice texture – moist and fairly light.

I frosted it with a lemony cream cheese frosting. (It would be better with a powdered sugar alcohol, but I’m low on erythritol so I skipped that.)

6 oz plain cream cheese

3 oz unsalted butter

vanilla stevia

lemon extract (grated lemon zest would be better)

1 Tbsp. whey (liquid that gathers on top of natural yogurt. I would have used lemon juice if I had any on hand.)

Beat all ingredients until smooth and then spread over cooled snack cake.

