I was in a rush this morning and didn’t bring either a snack for after curling or cash for pepperettes.  Despite a good breakfast (fried eggs with mozzarella and salsa), this made the potato chips at the table nearly irresistible and I ate more than I would have preferred. I had homemade bean-free chili and low carb cheese biscuits for lunch, so I’m back on plan now.

Yesterday was better even though I spent much of the day out of town and driving. I picked up 2 90 g packets of prosciutto ($3 each) and 1 100 g package of Spanish salami ($4). These kept me full enough that I only had them + tea with milk until I got home for a proper meal.

I’ve been on a chai kick lately. (I warm 1/4 cup of heavy cream in the microwave then add 2 tablets of stevia, 1 bag of chai, and boiling water.) I like the Tim Horton’s stuff, which contains  Black tea leaves, cinnamon bark, ginger root, black pepper, cardamom seed, cloves, star anise, and nutmeg according to the web site. I have all of those spices and loose black tea at home, so I want to mix some up.

In the meantime, I picked up a package of Tetley chai (20 bags for $3.29, ingredients are tea, cinnamon, and natural flavours) and it still tastes pretty good to me. The Bulk Barn bulk chai is very bland – it just tastes like cinnamon tea to me.

