I made this based on this recipe. I put the whole spices in a mortar and crushed them briefly with a pestle. I’m planning to keep this in the fridge as a concentrate to thin with a bit of water, heat, and sweeten.

2 cups water
2 cups coconut milk
1 Tbsp. cassia buds (I have ground cinnamon and cinnamon sticks, but I wanted to try something different), lightly crushed
2 teaspoons cardamom pods, lightly crushed
1 teaspoon whole cloves, lightly crushed
1/4 nutmeg (I always have partial ones because of grating them fresh), lightly crushed
3/4 tsp. ground ginger
1⁄4 teaspoon whole black peppercorn, lightly crushed
2 tablespoons loose rooibos tea leaves

Combine all of the ingredients in a large saucepan and bring to a boil over moderate heat. Reduce the heat to moderately low and simmer, stirring occasionally, until pale rust colored, about 20 minutes.
Strain the chai through a fine sieve and serve hot.

