The turnip top and bottom browned nicely cooked this way.

fist-sized turnips

butter

salt

Peel the turnips.

Preheat the oven to 350. Melt some butter in an oven-safe pan for which you have a lid – I used a cast iron pan. Arrange the turnips in a single layer in the pan. Sprinkle them with salt. Cover the pan and put it in the oven. After 30 minutes, flip the turnips. Continue cooking until the turnips are quite tender.

These reheat well. I’ve been eating them with a creamy chicken-leek casserole I made. (Apparently I didn’t write down the recipe. I fried a bunch of leeks, mixed them with a package of cream cheese, some grated parmesan, and a few cups of cooked chicken. Then I topped the mixture with more parmesan and baked it until it was bubbly.)

Turnips are moderately low carb – 8 g carbohydrate including 2 g fiber for a medium one.

