I joined the Raw Feeding Yahoo group to learn about raw feeding dogs. I think it could be good for my older dog, in particular, since even on quite small amounts of kibble for her size she remains overweight. I suspect she has some arthritis, so losing weight could help her to move more comfortably.

They recommend feeding dogs 80% meat, 10% bone, 5% liver, 5% other organ. I could do this quite economically compared to the admittedly expensive kibble I buy. They estimate dogs should be fed 2-3% of their ideal body weight per day, which amounts to 8.5 oz to 12.5 oz for my smaller dog and 17.5 to 26.5 oz for my larger dog.

This could consist of:

  • chicken liver is 99 cents per pound at the Chinese market and pork liver is $1.29
  • pork kidney is $1.29 at the Chinese market
  • pork heart (which counts as meat, not organ) is $1.69 per lb at the Chinese market
  • chicken carcasses are $1.29 for 3 carcasses (which gives some meat and some bone – not to mention skin and cartilage)
  • whole “old”chicken (which I believe means spent layers) is $1.19 per lb at the Chinese market

One of my dogs is prone to gulping his food, so I cut meat and bone into roughly bite sized pieces. I need to pick up a proper meat cleaver, though, because cutting through bone with my chef’s knife is a lot of work.

One of the dogs gets slightly runny poop from eggs, but other than that they seem to digest raw food no problem.

I did a bit of research because I’m curious about why, other than the fact that bones are OK to eat raw and can splinter when cooked, raw is better than feeding the same foods cooked. I don’t have a satisfactory answer yet.

