1 day later… These are brilliant! I’m not a huge fan of the vanilla – I’ll use lemon zest and hibicus tea for more flavour next time – but some of the erythritol crystallizes on the surface, which gives them a crunchy sugar texture. Definitely need to get some moulds or cutters.

2 days later… OK, the crystallized erythritol has gone beyond a pleasant crunchy coating to become something kind of unpleasant. They were still totally edible – and, yes, I ate them all in about 48 hours. I think I’ll halve the erythritol and boost the sweetness with stevia to keep this down.

Midmorning and midafternoon desire to munch despite not being hungry are definitely an issue for me. Today, I chose to eat a handful of pistachios at work because the ice cream bars that were in the fridge last week (I didn’t check if they were there this week) were starting to sound awfully good. There’s no sense in working so hard at autoimmune paleo that I blow low carb and autoimmune paleo.

Anyway, my first stab at making homemade gummies. I started at 1/2 cup erythritol but found it took a cup for the gummies to taste sweet. The stevia was a last minute addition because I thought it needed more flavour. The idea is that they’ll be firmer than jello, more the texture of candy. I’ll report back on how they turn out.

3 Tbsp gelatin

1/2 cup cranberry juice

1 cup erythritol

1 cup boiling water

2 tsp. citric acid

squirt of vanilla stevia

Combine the cranberry juice and gelatin and let it soak for a couple minutes. Add the remaining ingredients and stir until the gelatin dissolves. I had to hit it with my stick blender because I had trouble getting the gelatin to dissolve fully. Pour the mixture into a shallow pan and let it cool in the refrigerator. A lot of the recipes I’ve seen use cute tiny bear shaped cookie cutters, but I don’t have any of those, so for now my gummies are going to be squares.

