I picked up a 2 1/2 lb eye of round roast on sale planning to roast it rare, thinly slice it, and have it on lunch salads this week.

When I got home and looked up a recipe, a lot of sites mentioned that eye of round roasts could be tough. This recipe and a lot of positive reviews said it made eye of round tender. I cooked the roast at 475 for 18 minutes (7 minutes per pound for 2 1/2 lbs). I wanted the roast rare (130 degrees), so I pulled it after an hour and took its temperature – 125. I let it rest for 10 minutes then sliced it as thinly as I could. It’s amazing! The outside is nicely browned and the meat tastes perfectly tender to me. I cooked it in a cast iron pan that I’d put in the oven while the oven preheated and the drippings didn’t even burn. I added some water, red wine vinegar, salt and guar gum to the drippings and simmered briefly to make a simple gravy.

