I need to clear out a garden bed where I’ve grown garlic in the past so garlic comes up every spring. I harvested a huge bundle of green garlic and this is what I did with it:

Preheat the oven to 225 F. (No, not very hot – I wanted to let the green garlic soften since I’ve found it quite chewy in the past.)

Trim the roots from the green garlic and peel off the outermost layer if it is dry or brown.

Snip off any brown leaves.

Thoroughly wash the garlic – I did this in 3 changes of water.

Put the garlic in an oven-safe pan. I used a 9×13 pan which meant I cut the garlic in half lengthwise.

Put in a couple pieces of butter and sprinkle salt on top. Cover with foil.

Put the pan in the oven. After 10 minutes or so when the butter has melted, stir the garlic, put the foil back on, and continue cooking for about 2 hours, or until the garlic is very tender.

Salt and eat as it is, or use in dishes such as: Green garlic butter – let the garlic cool fully then puree it with softened butter for melting on steak and other tasty applications. Green garlic coleslaw – mix grated carrots, shredded cabbage, sour cream or creme fraiche, lemon juice or vinegar, pepper, and minced roasted green garlic.

