When I was a kid, my mum made pumpkin pie with whatever winter squash she had handy, other than spaghetti squash. I was out of canned pumpkin but I had a 400 g package of frozen squash, so I used that instead of 1 1/2 cups of canned pumpkin in this recipe. Thawed frozen squash is thinner than canned pumpkin, but I’ve been finding my cheesecakes too dense anyway so I think it improved the texture. I also substituted 250 g of homemade creme fraiche for the sour cream. I didn’t double it on purpose – I read the recipe then made it from memory – but, again, I think it helped to give the cheesecake a softer texture. For the sweetener, I used 3 Tbsp. granular sucralose, 3 Tbsp. granular cyclamate brown sugar substitute, and 1/4 tsp. stevia. I think it’s a touch too sweet – maybe 1/8 tsp stevia would have been enough.

