I had 2 tomatoes that were only still good because of the miracle of tomatoes bred for long shelf life, some limp celery, and some cooked chicken I wanted to make a casserole from, so I came up with this. It’s delicious – a bit spicy, nice balance of flavours. Next time I make it, I want to replace some of the chicken with mushrooms or zucchini to try to bring down the protein content a bit. (I don’t find the celery noticeable.)

3 Tbsp rendered chicken fat

3 stalks celery, diced fine

1 large onion, diced

3 tbsp taco seasoning

3 raw jalapeno peppers, diced

2 large Tomatoes, diced

4 oz cream cheese

4 cups cooked dark meat chicken, torn or chopped

salt and pepper

100 g grated cheddar cheese

Fry the onion and celery in the chicken fat until the celery is very tender. Add the jalapenos and taco seasoning and cook for a few minutes. Add the tomatoes and cook until the tomatoes break down. Dice the cream cheese and stir it in. Taste the mixture and season with salt and pepper.

Combine the tomato mixture and the chicken in a casserole dish. Sprinkle the cheddar on top and bake at 350 for 20 minutes, or until the casserole is bubbly and browned on top.

