I bought 1 kg of kielbasa at a good price and it turns out that that’s more than I can be bothered eating fried for breakfast, which is how I normally eat it. I had a jar of sauerkraut so I made this.

1 onion, sliced

oil or pork fat

1/2 beer or 3/4 cup red wine

1 jar sauerkraut

~750 g kielbasa, cut into pieces

Rinse and drain the sauerkraut.

Heat some oil or pork fat in a frying pan. Add the kielbasa and cook until it is browned on both sides. Remove it to a plate. Add more oil or fat if necessary and add the onion. Cook until it is soft. Add the beer or wine and cook it until it is mostly reduced, scraping the bottom of the pan. Pour the mixture into a 9×13 pan. Add the kielbasa and sauerkraut. Stir everything together, cover tightly with foil, and cook at 250 for an hour or until everything is hot.

