When I was at WalMart picking up 85% cacao chocolate bars I saw this stuff on clearance for $4/lb. I had never baked with isomalt/acesulfame potassium so I decided to give it a try. (Unlike many brown sugar substitutes, it does not contain molasses.) Acesulfame potassium is non-caloric and (from here) isomalt: Isomalt does not promote tooth decay, has a very low blood glucose effect (low glycemic response), has an effect like dietary fiber in the gut and has only half of the caloric value of sucrose.”

I used some of it to make the pumpkin mousse component of this recipe, with no changes other than substituting diabetic brown sugar substitute for brown sugar. It turned out nicely – the substitute dissolved better than erythritol and didn’t have an aftertaste like sucralose. I might go back to buy some more.

The second time I made the pumpkin mousse, I added a teaspoon of white wine vinegar. (I also reduced the pumpkin to 13 ounces instead of 15 since I was using the rest of a 28 oz can of pumpkin.) I probably would have used lemon juice if I’d had any, but I thought it needed a touch of acidity. I think it improves the recipe.

