I bought a couple pounds of ground pork last Friday thinking I’d make meatloaf. I haven’t been in the mood for meatloaf, so this is what I ended up making instead. It’s kind of like a bean-free chili and I’m planning to eat it on top of roasted vegetables.
fat (I used a bit of vegetable oil – it didn’t take much)
3 small onions, diced
1 tsp. garlic powder
3+ Tbsp. chili powder
1 tsp. cayenne
salt and pepper
12 oz tomato sauce (I used a bottled cherry tomato sauce whose last ingredient was sugar, so I’m hopeful it wasn’t much)
2 lbs ground pork
Fry the onions in fat until tender. Add the pork, garlic powder, chili powder, and cayenne and cook until the pork is no longer pink. Add the tomato sauce and bring to a simmer. Taste and add salt, pepper, and more chili powder to taste. Simmer for 10 minutes then serve or refrigerate to reheat later.
