This is one of my favourite dishes in Chinese restaurants. It’s a perfect LCHF one-dish meal. This ratio of beans to meat makes a meatier dish than you’d find in a restaurant. Since this makes 2 portions for me, and I think the beans would brown better if I only had 1/2 lb in my wok, I think I’ll halve this recipe next time.

Based on this recipe. It’s not especially spicy – I might double the chili garlic sauce.

Wear old clothes and/or an apron while cooking this – the oil has a tendency to spatter.

½ lb. ground pork
2 Tablespoons rice wine (I used whisky because I didn’t have any rice wine and was too lazy to open a bottle of white wine. I think it worked well even though it’s a pretty weird substitution.)
¼ tsp szechuan peppercorns, freshly ground
¼ cup water
1 tablespoon chili bean sauce
1-1/2 tablespoons garlic chili sauce
pinch stevia
1 teaspoon sesame oil
2 teaspoons arrowroot (this didn’t thicken as nicely as the cornstarch in the original recipe did. I might go with 1/4 tsp guar gum next time)
¼ cup fat (I used coconut oil, pork fat would be nice)
1 lb. fresh green beans, trimmed and cut in half if desired
1 garlic clove, minced
1 tablespoon fresh ginger, peeled and minced

Instructions

In a small bowl toss the pork with 2 tablespoons of soy sauce, 1 tablespoon of rice wine and the ground pepper. Marinate at room temperature while assembling the rest of the ingredients.
In a separate bowl combine the remaining tablespoon of rice wine, the stock, chili bean sauce, chili garlic sauce, stevia, sesame oil and arrowroot. Set aside.
Heat a wok or large frying pan over medium-high heat and add the fat.
When the oil is hot add the beans and stir fry them for 10 minutes, or until they begin to brown and blister. Remove the beans from the pan. Return the pan to the heat and add the pork, garlic and ginger. Stir fry for about 3 minutes, or until there is no longer any pink color to the pork. Add the reserved sauce and green beans and mix well. The sauce will begin to thicken and glaze the pork and beans. Serve.

