I bought a Romertopf clay pot at a thrift store a few years ago but never used it until tonight. The roast turned out brilliantly – moist like meat from a slow cooker but with some nice browning on top like roasted meat. I’ll definitely use it again.

Soak the top and bottom of the clay pot in cool water for 1/2 hour.

Put the pork shoulder picnic roast in the pot skin side up.

Season the roast liberally – I used paleo taco seasoning.

Put the lid on top and put the clay pot in the cold oven.

Turn the oven on to 250 degrees F. (Yes, not very hot. You can use a clay pot in a hotter oven, but I was looking to go out and come home to supper.)

After about 5 hours, take the clay pot out and put it on the counter on a towel.

Despite the fact that I didn’t add any liquid, about 2 1/2 cups of liquid accumulated in the bottom of the cooker. I strained it and will likely end up adding it to soup. Of course, it would be nice in gravy as well.

After the cooker cooled, I cleaned it with baking soda and thoroughly rinsed it with water. It’s currently in the cool oven drying.

