This was lunch one day this week (and then dinner twice) – it took about 25 minutes start-to-finish. (Because I already had the spaghetti squash cooked.) Normally, I’d expect to add sweetener to pad thai sauce, but I found this didn’t need it, probably because squash is sweeter than noodles.
This makes 2-4 servings, depending on what you serve it with. (I ate it with bacon because I happened to have some cooked.) When I make this for friends, I’ll add bean sprouts, tofu, and scrambled eggs.
1 spaghetti squash, seeds removed and cooked
olive oil
2 shallots, minced
2 cloves garlic, minced
1 fresh hot pepper, minced (I actually don’t know what type mine was – it was a red one about the size of a jalapeno from the farmer’s market)
unsweetened peanut butter
juice of 1 lime
hot sauce (optional)
soy sauce
chopped peanuts and lime wedges to serve
Heat the olive oil in a frying pan. Add the shallots, garlic, and hot pepper and cook on medium heat until the shallots are tender. Add the squash and toss for a couple minutes to start heating it. Reduce heat to medium-low. Add a giant blob of peanut butter – my first one was probably 1/2 cup or so. Stir until the peanut butter softens so that you can stir it through the spaghetti squash. Add soy sauce and taste. If you think it needs more peanut butter, stir some more in. Add the lime juice and soy sauce to taste. At this point, I added hot sauce because the hot pepper was milder than I’d expected. Top with chopped peanuts and provide lime wedges to squeeze on individual portions.
