I finished off a jar of Mr Goudas jerk sauce (there was 1/3 to 1/2 jar left) cooking 4 chicken quarters in the slow cooker. I rubbed the jerk sauce on the chicken, arranged the chicken as vertically as possible along the sides of the slow cooker insert, and then cooked them for 5 hours on low.  I should have salted them, but I just salted them before I ate them. The skin that rose above the liquid that collected in the bottom of the pan even crisped a bit! The jerk sauce penetrated the chicken nicely even though I hadn’t marinated it and the chicken was so tender it was almost falling off the bone. Highly recommended.

I only had one chicken quarter tonight. I strained the liquid and put it in the fridge – I’ll see how it tastes and if I want to thicken it to use as a sauce tomorrow.

Chicken quarters are on sale this week for $1.29, which is pretty amazing. (They normally run $1.59 to $1.69 at the Chinese grocery store and $1.99 and up elsewhere.) I’m thinking of doing something similar with thai curry sauce with the other package I bought.

