This is amazing! I had some leftover roast in the fridge and started googling for a recipe to make with it. (It wasn’t particularly appealing to eat warmed up – it was a leaner cut that a friend picked up and it turned out dry.) Even though I drained the cabbage well, a bit of liquid accumulated at the bottom of the pan. It thickened up in the fridge. I highly recommend the jalapeno – it gave the recipe a nice little kick.

I want to start messing around with cabbage in recipes that would normally use pasta. I think it will be better in some recipes than cauliflower since it’s less apt to get mushy.

It’s based on this recipe. The sour cream-cheddar mixture reminds me of something a friend used to make with frozen hash brown.

about 7 cups chopped raw cabbage
about 12 oz cooked beef (Mine was leftover roast beef. I chopped the meat and finely minced the fat cap.)
about 1 Tbsp. fat (I used pork fat)

1 clove garlic
1/2 cup chopped onion
1 chopped jalapeno pepper (or 1/4 cup chopped green bell pepper)
8 ounces sour cream
12 ounces shredded sharp cheddar cheese (I used a mixture of old and extra-old)
1 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon pepper

Instructions:

1. Put cabbage in a pan with a lid, and add an inch or two of water. Cook over medium heat, stirring as needed, until cabbage is tender (about 5-10 minutes). Drain well.

2. Fry garlic, onion, and pepper in fat until tender.

3. In large mixing bowl, combine cooked cabbage, beef, vegetables, sour cream, 8 ounces of the cheese, the salt, and the pepper. Stir to coat well.

4. Spread mixture in a greased 9 x 13-inch baking dish, and sprinkle with remaining 4 ounces of cheese. Bake at 350 degrees for 30 minutes.

