I only lost 0.6 lbs of the 1.8 lbs I gained last week, so I’m still up 1.2 lbs compared to 2 weeks ago. I’m trying to figure out what’s up with this since I thought I’d been eating fewer carbs overall. It’s at times like this that I wish I’d kept a food journal so I could more readily check what might have changed. (I did write down what I ate today and will try to food journal this week.)

1. I’ve started consuming sugar alcohols again. This week, it was only xylitol in panna cotta and a small amount of isomalt (1-2 sugar-free hard candies per day), but this could still be causing issues for me. I already haven’t replaced my maltitol-based sweets and I won’t replace the hard candies after they’re gone. I’m also planning to go back to sodium cyclamate and generic splenda in panna cotta for now.

2. I’ve been eating fewer nuts, both in the form of whole nuts and nut flour-based baked goods. (This came about because I haven’t prioritized baking and because a coworker is allergic to peanuts so I’ve been leaving them at home.) I thought/hoped this might accelerate my weight loss.

3. I’ve been consuming more dairy, mostly in the form of panna cotta that contains sour cream (14%), table cream, whipping cream, or a mixture. I would have thought that the increased carbs from dairy would be more than offset by the decreased carbs from nuts, but this is still another possible culprit.

4. I did buy a package of cheese slices, which I tend to snack on. I would be surprised if 1-2 slices every couple days were a big issue, but it is something I haven’t eaten often lately.

