Pork riblets

I made these based on this recipe with some riblets I picked up for 99 cents a pound. (They’re quite a bony cut, so I’d suggest at least a pound bone-in and uncooked weight per person.) I have quite a large slow cooker so I found that everything but the parts that ended up immersed in the liquid that accumulated at the bottom of the crockpot was a bit browned, otherwise I would have broiled them before adding the barbecue sauce.

3 pounds pork riblets
1 1/2 tsp onion powder
1 1/2 teaspoon pepper
1 1/2 teaspoon salt
1 1/2 teaspoon garlic powder

barbecue sauce, I used this recipe (I omitted the extra splenda since I found it sweet enough, added 1 tsp. molasses, added 1 tsp. chile garlic sauce instead of the chili powder and fresh garlic, and used a teaspoon of liquid smoke since I didn’t want as strong a smoke flavour.)

Directions:

  1. Combine onion powder, pepper, salt and garlic powder and rub onto riblets.
  2. Layer the riblets in the slow cooker.
  3. Cook on low for 8 hours.
  4. Remove riblets to a baking sheet.
  5. Coat riblets with barbecue sauce and broil until the barbecue sauce is browned.
