Lemon curd

Many lemon curd recipes are similar, but I started with this one. This tasted great when I sampled it as I was cooking it and even better spread on almond butter cake the next morning. I might consider scaling down the recipe next time because it did go a bit grainy after a few days.

      3 eggs
      1 tablespoon lemon zest (from 2 organic lemons)
      1/3 cup erythritol
      1/8 tsp stevia
      1/2 cup freshly squeezed lemon juice (my 2 lemons made 1/2 cup almost exactly, otherwise I would have topped up with bottled)
    6 tablespoons butter (mine was salted – I’d add a pinch of salt if you used unsalted), diced

In a stainless steel bowl placed in a medium saucepan that contains an inch or so of water, whisk together the eggs, lemon zest, stevia, and erythritol until light colored.

Whisk in the lemon juice.

Turn the heat on to medium-high and cook, whisking frequently, until the mixture starts to get warm.

Add a piece of butter, continuing to whisk, and then continue adding butter a piece at a time after the last piece melts.

After you have whisked in all the butter, continue to cook until the mixture thickens and you start to see a few bubbles popping at the surface.

Remove from heat, and scrape into a fine sieve set over a bowl. Strain the curd, gently stirring through the sieve. (This is nice to do, but I didn’t bother.)

Refrigerate for several hours to thicken. Will keep about one week or longer in the refrigerator.

