I made almond crusted butter cake tonight. My changes: the stevia drops were vanilla-flavoured, I skipped the sliced almonds, and I used unsweetened hemp milk instead of almond milk. I lined the loaf pan with parchment paper. The cake was quite brown on top but not set in the middle at an hour so I turned the temperature down to 275 and let it go for another 30 minutes. It is really delicious, both fresh from the oven and cooled the next morning. When it was warm, I thought I would prefer it a bit sweeter – I might add 1/4 tsp. stevia next time. But cool I thought it was sweet enough. So it probably depends what you’re serving it with. (Fresh berries and whipped cream would be awesome.)

The second time I made it (one week later – I really liked it), I used part almond flour that was made with the skins on and part walnut flour. The cake is pretty ugly – kind of brown and mottled – but tastes just as good. I want to figure out how to make a chocolate version.

