I’m almost out of veggie meatballs (I bake them with also-frozen homemade rose sauce, often frozen cauliflower or frozen green beans, and grated cheese for an easy meal) so I’m going to make make ahead freezer meatballs this weekend. (I’ll use the inexpensive sea salt I normally use, not Celtic sea salt.)

I’m still loving the pork sausage patties I froze last weekend, although I nuke them because the one time I tried to reheat them on the stove it took too long.

Update: I doubled the recipe (because medium ground beef was less expensive in a 4 lb package), pulsed the onion, garlic, and flat-leaf parsley in a food processor instead of chopping them separately, and baked the meatballs at 350 because the recipe didn’t specify a temperature. I used frozen, peeled garlic because I happened to have some. I used 3 tsp. of finely ground sea salt because I suspected that the Celtic sea salt was not finely ground (and therefore less dense) and, indeed, the meat was well-seasoned. (Depending on how I find them sauced, I might even cut the salt to 2 tsp. next time – I’ll report back.)

I used a 30 mL measure to scoop the meatballs. Its handle wasn’t very strong so it didn’t work great, but it was good that it prevented my meatballs from getting progressively bigger as I was making them. (I don’t have cookie scoops like the recipe author recommended.) I baked the meatballs on an unlined full sheet pan (I bought it at a restaurant supply store and it fills my entire oven) with little space between the meatballs so it was only 2 sheets of meatballs + 1 batch of 10 hamburgers. (It makes good hamburgers, too.) I had no issues with the meatballs sticking to the baking sheet. The 17 minutes the recipe called for was pretty close, but I checked the meatballs by choosing a big one and cutting it half to see if the meat was fully cooked in the middle. I could have used my instant-read thermometer too. (160 degrees in the middle.)

I cut my finger this weekend and so I’ve been using some nitrile gloves I keep around for chopping chiles to protect my hands. This is just a reminder to myself that mixing ground meat is so much more pleasant with disposable gloves on! (Weight-loss trivia: my hands appear to be a bit smaller. I bought small nitrile gloves because I always wore small latex gloves but it turns out that the nitrile gloves aren’t as stretchy so they fit smaller. I’ve been squeezing my hands in to them to avoid wasting them and it seems like an easier fit than it used to be. I’ll still buy medium next time, of course.)

