Smoked trout frittata

This is pretty good, although I’ll add cream to the egg to make it a bit less dry next time.

2 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil

1/2 lb frozen cauliflower

Salt

1 cup finely chopped onion

1 smoked trout, skin and bones removed

2 tablespoons minced fresh dill (I need to get my AeroGarden going – it would be better with dill but I don’t have any)

7 large eggs, beaten (I used 6 extra-large eggs)

1 cup grated mozzarella

Ground black pepper

1 cup sour cream

1. Heat oil in a 10-inch cast iron pan. Add cauliflower and onion and cook on medium-low for about 10 minutes, until they soften. Sprinkle with salt. Stir in trout and half the dill. Stir in eggs, pepper, and salt. Heat oven to 325 degrees. Fold eggs into trout mixture. Sprinkle mozzarella on top. Place in oven and bake 15 minutes. Fold remaining dill into sour cream and place in a serving dish.

3. Serve frittata with sour cream alongside.

Yield: 6 servings.

